Home>Guide>History Background of People's Liberation Monument

History Background of People's Liberation Monument

A Glance of People's Liberation Monument

The People's Liberation Monument is one of the symbols of Chongqing. It is at the intersection of Minzu Road, Minquan Road and Zourong Road in the centre of Yuzhong District of Chongqing with a height of 27.5 meters.

History Background - Before the Anti-Japanese War

Before the Anti-Japanese War, this area was called Duyou Street. It was named because there was once a official post office here. At that time, there were only several herbal medicine shops, silks and satins shops and shops selling stationeries in this area. The rest of this area was filled with residential buildings such as the house of Yang family and house of Zhou family and so on. At the intersection of four small lanes of the Duyou Street, there was a vacant lot covering an area of dozens of square meters. It was called Dashizi which is the centre of today's People's Liberation Monument area.

History Background - During the Anti-Japanese War

On December 30th, 1942 during the Anti-Japanese War, the government of Kuomintang presided over the construction of the "Spirit Fortress" in the center of Duyou Square of Chongqing. The "Spirit Fortress" was contracted to build by four units including the National Spirit Mobilization Union. It was built in the wood structure and coated with cement. This square cone was painted in black so as to avoid air-raid. The "Spirit Fortress" monument was 7.7 meters high which implied the beginning of anti-Japanese war on July 7th day in 1937. Afterwards, this monument was destroyed by the Japanese bomb.

History Background - After the Anti-Japanese War

On October 31st, 1946 after the Anti-Japanese War, the foundation of People's Liberation Monument was laid at the former address of the "Spirit Fortress". In December, construction of the new monument was stared and was finished in October 10th, 1947. Different from the former monument, the new monument was an octagonal column which was built in the style of reinforced concrete. On the surface of the monument, "Monument in Memory of the success of Anti-Japanese War" was engraved. Its external form is today's Liberation Monument. By now, the letter written by American president Roosevelt to Chongqing people is still treasured up in the monument.

History Background - After the Liberation War

On November 30th, 1949 after the Chinese Liberation War, the Chinese People's Liberation Army attacked and occupied Chongqing. On October 1st, 1950, Liu Bocheng, the chairman of Southwestern Military and Political Commission reviewed the troops and Chongqing people of parade in the square of the monument. Meanwhile, he changed its name and inscribed "Chongqing People's Liberation Monument". Since then, it is called People's Liberation Monument.